Skip to content

My Boards

Archiving and Restoring

Archiving vs Permanently Deleting

Archiving gives you the ability to remove a card, list or board from your screen. Cards, lists and boards that have been archived, can be restored.

Permanently deleting a card, list or board will remove them completely from the system. They cannot be retrieved if you change your mind. Only use this option if you are sure you want to delete an item forever.

How do I Archive a Card?

Click in to the card you want to archive. Use the Archive button at the bottom of the right-hand corner to archive the card. The screen will show it has been archived and when you click away from it, it will disappear from the board.

Example of an archived board:

Archived the card by mistake? If you're still in archived card screen, use the Restore button in the bottom right corner to bring the card back to the board.

How do I Archive a List?

To Archive a list, click the vertical ... icon on the right-hand side of the blue list header and select Archive.

You'll notice that you also have options to archive all of the cards in the list, or move the list to another board.

How do I Restore a Card or a List?

If you’ve moved away from the archiving window above, but need to restore a card, click the Archived button in the right-hand side menu. It will bring up a window where you can see your archived cards and lists. Click in to the main area of the card or list to bring it up, then click the Restore button to return it to the board.

How do I permanently delete a card or list?

When you select Archive from the right-hand side menu, you’ll have the option to delete or restore. This can be seen in the below image, with buttons for Delete Mode and Restore Mode. You can also use the bin icon located on the right-hand side of the card or list.

Before deleting permanently, you’ll need to select which items you want to delete, and you’ll be prompted to confirm you want to delete them. Only complete this process if you are sure you’ll never need the list or card again. You cannot retrieve permanently deleted items.

How do I Archive a Board?

Open the board you intend to archive. From your board, use the pencil icon in to top right hand corner to Open Board Options. Here you’ll see the Archive button at the bottom of the right-hand menu. Click this button to archive the board.

The board will change appearance to indicate it has been archived.

How do I permanently delete a board?

From the screen that indicates the board has been archived, you have the option to restore the board, or delete the board permanently. If you select to delete, you’ll be prompted to confirm you want to delete the board and all the data contained within it. Remember, you can’t restore or retrieve the board or any of the cards in it, if you delete permanently.

How to restore a board

Option 1: If you’re still within the screen above, you can use the Restore button to restore the board. If you’ve navigated out of that screen but remain in the board, click the pencil to Open Board Options and use the Restore button.

Option 2: Restore any board you’ve archived by navigating to the Archive tab on your My Boards dashboard page. Click in to the board you want to restore, click the pencil to Open Board Options, and click Restore.